Canto VIII

My firstborn child is still not quite the size
of the chunk I just lopped from my pollex tip,
while chopping carrots with a tiny knife.

I felt it’s sharpness as I lost my grip
just as it felt the softness of my skin.
I bring the stricken digit to my lips

and taste the current spring of my bloodline,
inspect the lump left on the chopping block
the cells and proteins still alive within,

adrift from home, abandoned, come unstuck
a fleshy raft straight out of Gericault,
some cells, it seems, have all the bloody luck

the germ cells continue to boldly go
through all the bodies that are yet to come
while all these chaps have ever come to know

has been the final frontier of my thumb.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 01:41:38

    Wow I’m impressed. Did it bleed much, did it hurt and how much did you chop off?
    I wondered about Gericault… was he the French painter?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,504 other followers

