Canto CLXXIX

He had his technique down to a tee,
asking if I could do him a favour.
When I said yes he sat down next to me

and in great detail, went on to explain the
circumstances off his last illness
that led him to the railway bridge to take a

plunge with high hopes of a sudden death.
He showed me the steel plate inside his shin
and stopped a moment to draw a quick breath

just after he told me about his kid.
I cut him short by saying “Sorry mate,
I’ve got no change.” A lie and he knew it.

And though I didn’t think that he had lied,
that didn’t mean I didn’t also think
that he was in possession of a blade.

A liar and a coward, I could sink
to sordid depths as well, just watch and see,
as like all bigots after a few drinks

I make a big deal of my honesty.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 14:38:00

    Dammed if you do give (easily conned).
    Dammed if you don’t give (mean)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

