Canto CLXXXI

If there was any time back in the day
I made up part of a male coterie
engaging in cock of the walk displays

so women within our vicinity
would wish the pavement to swallow them whole—
then payback of a sort occurred today

as I became the solitary male
at my dear wife’s first antenatal class.
There’s nothing that could make me feel as small

as realising that I have been cast
as stooge for the midwife’s comedy routine,
an easy target for some bawdy laughs

as all the other fathers must have been
at work, up to no good or unaware.
I guess it’s a fair cop, you get the pain

while I get two more fun Mondays to bear
the brunt for all the sins that have come home
to roost, to pay off the hefty arrears

clocked up by my errant Y chromosome.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 00:30:14

    Don’t you just love it when fate has a sense of irony. I bet the mums to be drew great amusement from your discomfort.

    I am the only bloke in a class of thirty women doing morning yoga…guess who gets chosen to demonstrate the asana.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,504 other followers

