Canto CCVIII

Forgive me for the lateness of this poem,
I had so much to do . . . okay, I lied.
I spent most of this wasted Sunday playing

a video game in which the living dead
descended in their droves on the Wild West.
I played the thing for hours, I was that bored.

And now, whatever pops from me is just
as undead as those pixelated hordes
that spattered when lined up in my targets.

Perhaps they’ll make a game called Lazy Bards,
where all the little poems you’ll never pen
suddenly leap out from your dreamy head

so you can blast them to oblivion?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

