Canto CCXLI

I didn’t hear the news today, oh girl,
about today’s seige in Tottenham Court Road,
well, I didn’t hear of it until

it was concluded, busy voices said
that it was over as I sat and watched
you watching me. These days I have not paid

attention to what’s current or what’s hot
within whatever fashion week applies
to whichever city. Some might have thought

I was invested in the tragedy
when word of mouth reached me, for it appeared
to those that were not looking at your eyes

that mine were welling up with sudden tears.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maryah M-K
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 22:24:57

    Beautiful

    Reply

  2. peter litton
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 22:33:14

    I sensed a bit of Irish in this poem (I have been reading Yates) I think it was the “oh girl bit” at the end of the first line and the beautiful ebb and flow of the poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,504 other followers

