Canto CCLXI

There is a slight correlation between
the little red arrows that point downwards
next to the markets’ names on the flat screen

and the grey hairs appearing in my beard,
my softening stomach, my thick crows lines
and neurons snuffing out within my head.

But then I touch your flawless newborn skin,
your supple joints, your blooming sense of self
and I’m less fearful of the grim downturn.

I’ve spent my youth and built no other wealth
to line our nest as winter sidles up,
and in these dying kernels of our world

I see the shining seeds for the new crop.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    May 20, 2012 @ 00:13:46

    This series often acts as one big free poetry master class for me. This time I noticed the use of opposites and comparisons in the poem.
    To achieve little… perhaps, gain a little knowledge on the way and pass on to the new crop…that is as good as it gets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

