Canto CCLXXII

The rent creeps up, it’s to be expected
what with all the young professionals
that came here in the previous decade

become young families. I behold all
the old man boozers turned to gastro-pubs,
the mortgage friendly, come to me signal

of Pizza Express, though the Kebab
shop soldiers on as guilty pleasures do.
I have no local, I eschew the clubs

for networking parents, instead I choose
to keep from fraternising with the others,
they’ll never be our friends, but we renew

for half a ton per calendar month over
what we were coughing up the month before.
My neighbourhood may be a callous lover

but I’m the mug that hangs about for more.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 00:42:34

    I tried to imagine your area of London with its new found gentrification…pushy parents came to mind, the type that send round robins of their offspring’s achievements.

    I wondered what kind of place would suite you.

    Somewhere that had seen grander times and that was now slowly running down.
    A seedy sadness of once posh villas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

