Canto CCLXXVII

They’re having a street party two streets down.
I don’t begrudge their spirits, I won’t drive
my Republican dump truck through their lawns.

I sit at home and take a gentle sniff
of the flawless skin of my daughter’s left arm.
One forgets, through all the years we live,

how perfection imbued our newborn forms.
I choose to keep an eye on the future,
the dewy promise of the years to come,

and turn a cold and indifferent shoulder
to sixty years of our dear regents’ reign.
The right of birth might now be ten years older,

I’ll place my faith with all the newly born.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 23:10:06

    I like the idea that republican and royalist sympathies can live side by side in this country. I am ambivalent about royalty…I think that a man who has a lackey to put toothpaste on his brush is not living in the twenty first century, however, the thought of President Blair is worse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

