Canto CCXCI

Despite the fact I caught the wrong train twice,
and nearly didn’t make it to the stage,
I still managed to stand up and recite

my poems to the sparsely sat menage
of Crystal Palace locals. Four hours sleep
per night has added years to my brain age

and yet the I faithfully play back the tape
of all those lines I wrote down months ago,
it’s like the only need my mouth to gape

before a microphone for them to to flow
out into the damp air like cicadas
hatched after those odd years lying low,

a buzzing hum of ownerless ideas.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 00:13:21

    I like the use of Cicadas as a simile…I’ve always wanted to see them swarm, they lie dormant for years and then suddenly all appear at once. Different species of Cicadas appear at different intervals like 3, 5, 7 and 11years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

