Canto CCCXV

The library is closed yet I recite
my newly written poem on Moby Dick
into the empty chasm, dimly lit,

encircled by the spiral, shelved hardbacks
of authors who will find receptive minds,
beyond the hundreds I will find next week.

The architect assures me he designed
this as a place for true public discourse
and I believe him, for I feel inclined

to run this long curve, shouting out my verse
to whatever living ears can hear
into the wide circle of empty space,

for even Homer’s verse must disappear.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 23:50:22

    I like libraries and I also like curved buildings and structures. If you think about it, whenever function dictates the shape of a building you end up with curves… an igloo, a yurt, a light-house and the Guggenheim Museum in New York all have curves. The State Library of New South Wales is a round building with a cupola. It was here that I started to read poetry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

