Canto CCCXLII

The ghost white husky sniffs at baby’s leg
and I think back to all those tasteless jokes,
those “so damn cute that I could eat her” gags

that adults make while pawing chubby cheeks.
The nose twitches, takes in her soft skin’s scent,
blue eyes widen and the rough tongue licks,

then offers me a paw like a true gent
and I affect my best “How do you do…”
before the mutt upstages me again

by breathlessly exclaiming, “IIIII ruuuuuv roooooo!!!”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 00:07:30

    I like this, “The nose twitches, takes in her soft skin’s scent,
    blue eyes widen and the rough tongue licks,”

    I also like the idea that animals can often be more subtle and intelligent than blundering human beings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

