Canto CCCXLVII

The man at the shop is growing a moustache
so I give him the same knowing look
he gives me when he rings up my beer stash.

The fuzz on his top lip raises the stakes,
so  I must add to my own vice for booze
and buy some cheap cigars that I will smoke

at one AM through the khazi window.
I’ll pluck a men’s journal from the top shelf
or buy some condoms that I’ll never use.

If something’s found to hamper human health
for minimal pleasure, I’m buying that.
But I’ll indulge my temptations with stealth,

that is unless he starts to wear a hat.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. peter litton
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 08:25:39

    This is a bit surreal for this time in the morning… I’ll need to go away and think about it.
    And why the hat?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,503 other followers

